

St. Richard Council 15131

&

John Edward Tracy Assembly 3863

-Mississippi District-

MAY 2025 Newsletter

VERSION 1

Knight's Prayer

Our Lady, Queen of the Knights, bless all the activities of our Order. Keep us true to our pledge, to extend the kingship of thy divine son on earth. Through Thine intercession, win for us the grace, ever to exemplify in our public and private lives, the virtues that should characterize those especially dedicated to the service of the heavenly court. Make us always aware that as your Knights, we are constantly observed, our faith judged, and our Order appreciated. Accept, O Mary, this renewed pledge of fealty and devotion, of Thy Servants, the Knights of Columbus.

Council News

The meeting was called to order by GK George LaFontaine at 6PM with 14 members present in attendance. A motion to dispense with the reading of the minutes of the previous meeting and to approve the same was made and approved.

Grand Knight report

- No more pancake breakfasts till September 2025
- Ushering for 10:30 Mass May 18.
- For any questions or matters concerning joining the Assembly 3863 4th Degree please contact Faithful Navigator George LaFontaine at <u>Elizabeth11022020@gmail.com</u>.

Financial reports:

• Reports were submitted from the Financial Secretary Harold Hardin and Treasurer Robert Munroe.

No Reports from Committees

Unfinished Business:

None

New Business:

- Elections for the 2025-2026 Fraternal Year were held, and no other nominations were made.
- Upon duly made and approved motion, one vote was cast for each of the following
 - Grand Knight: Steve Cochran
 - Deputy Grand Knight: John Gomez
 - Chancellor: Dave Forlenza
 - Advocate: Louis Clifford
 - o Recorder: Kyle Jones
 - Treasurer: Robert Munroe
 - Warden: Justin Lancaster
 - Inside Guard: John Bethea II
 - o Outside Guard: John Bethea III
 - First Trustee: Charles Caskey
 - Second Trustee: Chris Champagne
 - Third Trustee: Harold Hardin
- The following officers were appointed to their respective positions for the 2025-26 Fraternal Year in accordance with the by-laws of the Council:
 - Financial Secretary: Al Goodman
 - Chaplain: Fr Joe Tonos
 - o Lecturer: John Malanchak
 - Program Director: John Gomez
 - Family Director: Louis Clifford
 - Community Director: Chres Hewitt
 - Membership Director: John Gomez
 - Retention Director: Steven Cochran
- Motion was made and seconded to appropriate no more than \$900 for the purchase of a shotgun for the fundraiser for the Council. Notice will be sent to the membership electronically and the motion will be put to a vote no later than the June Council meeting.
- Motion was made and approved to appropriate up to \$500 for a new freezer should an inspection of the one currently owned by the Council prove a new freezer is needed.
- Council 15131 was awarded the Star Council Award for the 2025-2026 Fraternal Year.
- No District Deputy Report.
- No Chaplain Report.
- Good of the Order:
 - Pray for Watts Ueltschey, Angela Bethea, Pope Leo XIV, the healing and comfort for Dave Fisher's daughter and their family, recovery and healing for Charles Caskey, protection and healing for George LaFontaine's upcoming surgery, the repose of the soul and comfort for the family of Past Grand Knight and Brother John Meadows, and the health of John Bethea II.
- Meeting was adjourned at 6:26 after prayer and closing ceremony.

Assembly News

New Business:

- Elections for the 2025-2026 Fraternal Year were held, and no other nominations were made.
- Upon duly made and approved motion, one vote was cast for each of the following
 - Faithful Navigator: Robert Munroe
 - Faithful Captain: Chris Champagne
 - Faithful Admiral: Louis Clifford
 - Faithful Comptroller: Guy Heying
 - Faithful Purser: Mike Hart
 - Faithful Pilot: Steven Cochran
 - Faithful Scribe: John Gomez
 - Inner Sentinel: Michael Furini
 - Outside Sentinel: Greg Hampton
 - First Trustee: Charles Caskey
 - Second Trustee: John Malanchak
 - Third Trustee: Dave Fisher
- The next bingo volunteer effort is scheduled for May 8, 2025 and June 12, at 2pm at the VA Hospital on Woodrow Wilson Ave. We meet in the lobby around 1:30PM and the bingo concludes around 3PM. This is a joint effort of St Paul/St Jude and St Richard Assemblies.
- For any questions or matters concerning the Assembly 3863 4th Degree please contact Faithful Navigator George LaFontaine at <u>Elizabeth11022020@gmail.com</u>.
- Assembly polo shirts can be ordered. They will be light gray with our Assembly name and Assembly logo. Cost is expected to be \$32 up to LG, \$34 for XXLG and \$36 for XXXLG. Your name can be added.
- Meeting was adjourned at 7:26 after prayer and closing ceremony.

Prayer for the Canonization of Blessed Michael McGivney Founder of the Knights of Columbus

God, our Father, protector of the poor and defender of the widow and orphan, you called your priest, Blessed Michael McGivney, to be an apostle of Christian family life and to lead the young to the generous service of their neighbor. Through the example of his life and virtue, may we follow your Son, Jesus Christ, more closely, fulfilling his commandment of charity and building up his Body which is the Church. Let the inspiration of your servant prompt us to greater confidence in your love so that we may continue his work of caring for the needy and the outcast. We humbly ask that you glorify Blessed Michael McGivney on earth according to the design of your holy will. Through his intercession, grant the favor I now present (here make your request). Through Christ our Lord. Amen.

Please report all favors received: The Father McGivney Guild, 1 Columbus Plaza, New Haven, CT 06510-3326.

2024-2025 Council Officers

Grand Knight	George LaFontaine
Deputy Grand Knight	Steve Cochran
Chancellor	John Rommel Gomez
Financial Secretary	Harold Hardin
Treasurer	Robert C Munroe
Recorder	Nathan Kyle Jones
Advocate	Carroll Louis Clifford IV
Warden	David Forlenza JR
Inside Guard	Dave J Fisher
Outside Guard	Frank T Tuminello
Trustee – First Year	AI W Goodman, JR
Trustee – Second Year	Charles Caskey
Trustee – Third Year	Christopher L Champagne
Lecturer	TBA (appointed by Grand Knight)

2024-2025 Assembly Officers

Faithful Navigator Faithful Captain Faith Admiral	George LaFontaine Chris Champagne Louis Clifford
Faithful Comptroller	Harold Hardin
Faithful Purser	Mike Hart
Faithful Pilot	Steven Cochran
Faithful Scribe	John Gomez
Inner Sentinel	Michael Furini
Outer Sentinel	Greg Hampton
Trustee – 1 st year	Charles Caskey
Trustee – 2 nd year	Robert Munroe
Trustee – 3 rd year	Guy Heying